Advisory Board

The Mexican American Studies Advisory Board includes members within the University of Arizona and communities outside of the University. The Board provides counsel and support to promote the program, faculty and students.

Name  Representation

Adelita Grijalva

Member, Pima County Board of Supervisors 
Cam Juarez Community Engagement Coordinator Saguaro National Park - U.S. National Park Service and former TUSD District Governing Board Member
Celestino Fernandez UA Professor Emeritus in Sociology
Dominique Calza Director, Ana & Adalberto Guerrero Student Center
Elizabeth Soltero Former Director Ana & Adalberto Guerrero Student Center
Isabel Garcia Immigrant Rights Attorney Coalición de Derechos Humanos
Kristel Foster Language Acquisition Program Specialist, Sunnyside Unified School District
Macario Saldate UA Professor Emeritus in Mexican American Studies, Founding Director of the Dept. of UA Mexican American Studies Representative Arizona State Legislature (ret.)
Melissa Fitch Faculty Fellow at the Adalberto & Ana Guerrero Student Center
Paul Cicala Sports Anchor and reporter, KVOA Tucson
Ricardo Castro Vice President International Development Pima Community College
Scott Whiteford Professor Emeritus in Latin American Studies
Sofia Ramos Luminario Education Strategies-Career Development and Advancement Strategies Consultant
Vince Rabago Attorney
Florencio "Lencho" Zaragoza President Exoficio Fundación México
Rosi Garcia Trustee, Tucson Symphany Orchestra; President, Guild of Southern Arizona, UA Fred Fox School of Music Advisory Board
Hon. Regina Romero Mayor, CIty of Tucson
Raul Aguirre President REA Media
Betty Villegas Director Sosa-Carillo Museum of Mexican American History and Culture
Patricia Benton Tucson Sister Cities, Board member, Borderlands Theater
Maria Federico Brummer Graduate Student, Mexican American Studies
Kristel Foster Language Acquistion Program Specialist Sunnyside Unified School District
Raquel Rubio Goldsmith Mexican American Studies Faculty -ret.
Gloria Montaño-Green Deputy Under Secretary for Farm Production and Conservation USDA